Santa Monica Mermaids

santa monica mermaids001 (edit 72dpi)Ballpoint pen doodle from the page of my Sketchbook. Started the pre-sketch, which are usually just shapes, back when I was in Primm last Wednesday. just been working on it slowly overtime as my project, and when my friend took me to see Santa Monica Beach and Pier I was inspired.

The first intention was to make a joke about the mermaids taking a selfie with a cruise ship behind them, where all the passengers are then turning their backs to take a selfie. But seeing the ocean for the first time in 13 years, I knew I wanted to draw this with that place in mind. Funny enough I was working on this piece when we were on the Santa Monica Pier, and happy to see visitors see me drawing them and loving them; something about California makes people really appreciate artists and for artists to appreciate being artists… I want to move there now! This November!!

gonna work hard, build up my portfolio, apply for jobs, and even if I am just working a small position at a store, restaurant or delivery service, I want to be out there and stay out there!

also, rich guy dream is to open up a hotel on the beach side there, have a penthouse on the top as my headquarters for all my creativity. And be able to use the hotel to help friends, family and other aspiring artists to visit and experience the LA area for themselves… Everyone needs to see that city, and no one should live their lives never once seeing the ocean

Published by

wretneck

I am a character designer, storyboard artist, comic illustrator, and writer

Leave a Reply

